Top Business Students Inducted Into Beta Gamma Sigma International Society

Feb 20, 2020 | Business, Engagement

The Louisiana Tech University chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma International Honor Society inducted 14 undergraduate and graduate business students during a special ceremony held in the College of Business.

This prestigious honor society represents the top 10 percent of undergraduates and the top 20 percent of graduate students at institutions accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB International). Only five percent of business schools worldwide meet the rigorous standards of AACSB International accreditation. Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student can receive in a program accredited by AACSB International.

BGS inductees

The 2020 inductees are:

  • Joseph Bailey, junior accounting major from West Monroe
  • Alexis Burns, junior accounting major from Quitman
  • Connor Gibbon, junior finance major from Zachary
  • David Hooper, master of accountancy student from Stonewall
  • Zachary Little, junior accounting major from Winnfield
  • Eleanor Meek, junior sustainable supply chain management major from Baton Rouge
  • Madison Norris, senior management major from West Monroe
  • Monika Sharma, senior accounting major from Humla, Nepal
  • Ranee Shelton, junior sustainable supply chain management major from Oak Grove
  • Rasmi Shrestha, master of business administration student from Gaithersburg, Maryland
  • John-Garrett Smith, junior sustainable supply chain management major from Calhoun
  •  Aubrey Smith, junior accounting major from Ruston
  • Julie Vandenberg, junior accounting major from Ruston
  • Adam Whipple, senior sustainable supply chain management major from Monroe

Dr. Bob Cunningham, a three-time College of Business graduate and 1996 Beta Gamma Sigma inductee, provided remarks during the ceremony and was honored for his service and leadership. Dr. Cunningham serves as Executive in Residence for the College, and is CEO of the Heritage Group, a consulting firm specializing in the higher education sector, and the Cunningham Group, a fraud investigation company.

Dr. Chris Martin, dean of the College of Business and president of Louisiana Tech’s Beta Gamma Sigma chapter, presented the BGS Professor of the Year award to Dr. David Herda, associate professor of accountancy, in recognition of his excellence in teaching, research, and service.

Beta Gamma Sigma is The International Business Honor Society. Since 1913, they have recognized and honored top performing students from around the world in business schools accredited by The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB International). Through dedication to providing lifetime value for members, Beta Gamma Sigma works to bring programs, connections, benefits, and opportunities to every individual in the organization. In 2019, Louisiana Tech’s chapter was recognized as an Honors Chapter by the BGS Global Headquarters.

For more information about Beta Gamma Sigma, visit